What are my chances?

• This has become our largest and most active forum because the physics GRE is just one aspect of getting accepted into a graduate physics program.
  • There are applications, personal statements, letters of recommendation, visiting schools, anxiety of waiting for acceptances, deciding between schools, finding out where others are going, etc.

lorenzbutterfly

What are my chances?

Post by lorenzbutterfly » Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:10 am

All right, the subject GRE is in 2 days, and I'm freaking out a little, so I'm appealing to you all for some help.

I'm an American student from a liberal arts college, with a 3.96 GPA (3.9ish in physics). I have a second major in math, and have taken a graduate course in it (there is no grad program for physics here). I did one REU at the University of Chicago, out of which I'm getting a recommendation. I already took the general GRE, and got V:580 (80th %ile), Q: 790 (90th %ile), A: 5 (70th %ile). I'm applying to U of Chicago, NYU, U of Maryland and Penn State with an interest in experimental soft condensed matter physics.

My worry is about this subject test. My practice exams are not all that encouraging, with my scores hovering around 600. Do you think I have a chance of getting into these schools with those numbers?

P.S.: I'm a female applicant, so I've been told that will help. Any opinions?

somebody

Post by somebody » Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:46 pm

yeah I'm applying from a liberal arts school too. One of my professors did his phd at hopkins (a school with a good physics graduate program) and spent time there as a postdoc. He said that graduate schools recognize that students from liberal arts schools are at a disadvantage because they usually take less intense physics cirriculums. He said at hopkins he knew of people who scored between 30 and 40th percentiles who were accepted from liberal arts schools.

radicaltyro

Post by radicaltyro » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:28 pm