Switching fields

• This has become our largest and most active forum because the physics GRE is just one aspect of getting accepted into a graduate physics program.
  • There are applications, personal statements, letters of recommendation, visiting schools, anxiety of waiting for acceptances, deciding between schools, finding out where others are going, etc.

rohan

Switching fields

Post by rohan » Fri Nov 09, 2007 3:16 am

I'm an electrical engineering student, currently doing my BE and I'm keen on studying physics in the future, something in the area of applied physics. Although I havent taken up the advanced physics courses, my university allows us to take two basic physics courses. Also, I've worked with the physics faculty very closely and have done a bulk of my optional course work in physics ( though none of it has been pure physics). And, considering the fact that Im an electrical engineering student, Ive have courses on condensed matter physics and device physics, which is where my main interest lies.
What I want to know is, how much of a handicap would it be for me, considering my limited physics background, if I were to apply for an MS or a Phd in an applied physics department. Would it be advisable for me to apply for an MS in electrical engineering itself and take up more physics related course work during my MS?

emigre459

Post by emigre459 » Fri Nov 09, 2007 3:27 am

Hi rohan,