International student application

• This has become our largest and most active forum because the physics GRE is just one aspect of getting accepted into a graduate physics program.
  • There are applications, personal statements, letters of recommendation, visiting schools, anxiety of waiting for acceptances, deciding between schools, finding out where others are going, etc.

Tsak

International student application

Post by Tsak » Fri May 12, 2006 12:29 pm

Hello,
I am studying physics in the university of cyprus. My grades so far have been pretty lousy. My average is 6.4/10 which is 2.6/4. However the standard deviation is pretty high. I have had very high grades in some lessons but I have also had very low grades in some lessons. However I am hoping that my average will increase during this semester and the next. I have also done some research work this year and I am expecting to coauthor an article with my advisor. We are hoping we will send it for publication in the following days (by June). I am also planning to take my GRE's and TOEFL in November and I'm hoping to get a decent score. I am definitely getting a very good reccomendation letter from my advisor who knows me well and has taught me 2 lessons. I also know that my advisor is pretty accredited (he has taught in Stanford). And I'm probably getting another two reccomendation letters from other professors in my department.

I am interested in studying in the USA after I get my degree here. Now I have heard that if I apply for a PhD in the USA, my studies will be funded by TA and RA. Is this true? Do I have a chance of getting in a decent University in the USA?I was also wandering what you would advise me to do. Apply to good schools(top 20) or average schools.

PS I also have the option of staying in this university one more year, to improve my grades and perhaps do a bit more of research, perhaps with another professor in another field (I have done research in Condensed matter physics).

raysum