About interviews

• This has become our largest and most active forum because the physics GRE is just one aspect of getting accepted into a graduate physics program.
  • There are applications, personal statements, letters of recommendation, visiting schools, anxiety of waiting for acceptances, deciding between schools, finding out where others are going, etc.

burnbadd

About interviews

Post by burnbadd » Tue Jan 18, 2022 9:11 pm

Hi guys, I am a prospective graduate student applying this year, mainly aiming for Harvard and MIT.
Out of curiosity, does anyone know how interviews in these top schools work?
Like in Oxbridge (UK), we get an interview if our profile (SOP, CV, LoR) passes the first stage of the process and people who pass the interview gets accepted.
From my impression, US top schools (Harvard, Stanford, Princeton, MIT, Caltech) don't tend to interview everyone that they take, some people get accepted without an interview and some get accepted only after their interview. Is this correct?
If so, what is the statistic like (if anyone knows lol)? How many people do they interview? How many get in without an interview? etc

And also please feel free to share if you have received an interview invitation from MIT, Harvard, Yale or Princeton! Would be happy to know!

rustyDingo

Re: About interviews

Post by rustyDingo » Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:35 pm

Hi, I have had an interview from Princeton, but not MIT, Harvard or Yale which I also applied to. I always assumed if a school does interviews you need to get one to get in, what makes you think otherwise?

neutrinos

Post by neutrinos » Wed Jan 19, 2022 10:56 pm