How much less competitive is astrophysics/cosmology theory compared to high energy?

• This has become our largest and most active forum because the physics GRE is just one aspect of getting accepted into a graduate physics program.
  • There are applications, personal statements, letters of recommendation, visiting schools, anxiety of waiting for acceptances, deciding between schools, finding out where others are going, etc.

Cow

How much less competitive is astrophysics/cosmology theory compared to high energy?

Post by Cow » Fri Nov 12, 2021 11:32 pm

In comparison to high energy, how competitive is astrophysics/cosmology theory? I'm a freshman in university and exploring research options right now. I currently go to a Canadian university that does a lot of astrophysics theory (pretty much gives it away there but whatever), but we did have a senior here that does high-energy theory at MIT now.

When I say cosmology I'm talking about more phenomenological stuff, not like quantum gravity or string theory. I found this thread from 2013, viewtopic.php?t=5017, and wondering if the field has changed since then.

geekusprimus

Re: How much less competitive is astrophysics/cosmology theory compared to high energy?

Post by geekusprimus » Sat Nov 13, 2021 5:52 pm

"Astrophysics/cosmology theory" is a very broad term. It covers everything from high-energy astrophysics (GRBs, supernovae, etc.) to astroparticle physics (neutrinos, some cosmology stuff) to gravitational wave physics to computational cosmology and everything in between. Generally speaking, all of these fields will be less competitive than HEP-theory or quantum gravity, but that's not saying much.