Missed Opportunity?

• This has become our largest and most active forum because the physics GRE is just one aspect of getting accepted into a graduate physics program.
  • There are applications, personal statements, letters of recommendation, visiting schools, anxiety of waiting for acceptances, deciding between schools, finding out where others are going, etc.

ckangaroo

Missed Opportunity?

Post by ckangaroo » Thu Apr 16, 2020 2:25 pm

Hello everyone,

I'll try to summarize my issue and circumstance the best I can. I'm a recent physics graduate with a 3.1 GPA from a good college in the DMV area. I wanted to get into a PhD program but wasn't able to attempt the GRE or apply to any schools due to my financial situation, so instead I focused on getting a job quickly after graduating, and I managed to get a job recently as a Systems Engineer at a big defense contractor. One of the major reasons I took the path I have so far was because many of the professors I've talked to mentioned the possibility of going back to grad school either during or after working for some time. I know many companies will allow employees to work and get an MS at the same time, but doing the same thing with a PhD might as well be impossible. I also haven't found many cases at all mentioning people who work for some time in a relatively nontechnical field and then manage to get accepted into a PhD program. I'm worried that I may have lost my chance at getting a PhD or even MS in physics because I didn't strike while the iron was hot during my undergrad days. Even moreso I'm worried that since my first job was a nontechnical one, I'm going to miss out on future careers in R&D.

Does anyone have personal experience that relates to this? Can you apply and return to grad school after working a normal career? How much does my prior academics influence that? I'd appreciate any input you can offer.

Nishikata

Re: Missed Opportunity?

Post by Nishikata » Thu Apr 16, 2020 2:39 pm