Math PhD candidate needs advice

• This has become our largest and most active forum because the physics GRE is just one aspect of getting accepted into a graduate physics program.
  • There are applications, personal statements, letters of recommendation, visiting schools, anxiety of waiting for acceptances, deciding between schools, finding out where others are going, etc.

mathguy

Math PhD candidate needs advice

Post by mathguy » Sat Aug 16, 2008 6:34 pm

Hello,

This is my first time posting so thanks for your attention. I'm a Pure Math PhD candidate at a top research university who finds himself in a really bad situation. I've fulfilled all of my requirements except for the dissertation, which is almost done. Long story short, I'm very concerned that I've picked the wrong career. In fact, I'm almost certain of it. As an undergrad, I did a double degree in math and physics and picked up a masters degree in applied math. I've published a paper on theoretical physics a few years ago (though not in an esteemed journal) and I'll probably have another mathematical publication coming out shortly.

I really would like to get back into theoretical Physics and I'm looking for any advice I can get. Particularly, what are my chances at this stage given my background? Thanks!

larry burns

Re: Math PhD candidate needs advice

Post by larry burns » Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:02 pm

mathguy wrote: Long story short, I'm very concerned that I've picked the wrong career. In fact, I'm almost certain of it.
out of curiousity, why do you think pure math was the wrong choice?

mathguy

Post by mathguy » Sat Aug 16, 2008 8:16 pm