Please give any advice on my overall scores...

doublec63

Please give any advice on my overall scores...

Post by doublec63 » Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:09 am

Hi
I am currently senior, preparing to apply this winter for 2014 fall semester.
I have good GPA and some papers published, but unfortunately my PGRE score came out HORRIBLE...
I have taken the September and October exams and waiting for the last one to come..
but I guess my scores won't go up since October exam felt really difficult for me...(sobs)

Since I'm an international student, I've heard that I should have gotten scores higher than 900 (at least),
not to mention the reality that only shows lots of people admitted with almost perfect scores for good schools....
At first I thought of applying to top 10 schools but by Physics GRE I think my chances have gotten totally blurred.

Here's my score and other info about my publications...
Could anyone give me advice on where I can apply with safety?

Asian female/ Nationality U.S.A.; but lived mostly in Asia

home university overall GPA 3.9/4.0, Major GPA 3.86/4.0
UIUC overall GPA 3.8/4.0, Major GPA: 3.85/4.0
PGRE 880 (83%)
TOEFL 118
Publications: Three publications-two of them is 1st author(High SCI level; well-known journal), one is second author
Presentations: two poster sessions in conferences
exchange student to UIUC for a year
worked as an undergraduate tutor for a year by attending the tutoring program in my home university

blighter

Re: Please give any advice on my overall scores...

Post by blighter » Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:38 am

doublec63 wrote:Hi
I am currently senior, preparing to apply this winter for 2014 fall semester.
I have good GPA and some papers published, but unfortunately my PGRE score came out HORRIBLE...
I have taken the September and October exams and waiting for the last one to come..
but I guess my scores won't go up since October exam felt really difficult for me...(sobs)