UK Msci Student

Soliton

UK Msci Student

Post by Soliton » Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:01 pm

I am currently in my 3rd year out of a 4 year Masters Course (Msci Physics). I have always intended to apply Overseas for university, but only recently have I thoroughly looked into the proccess of US applications for PhD programs.

I am highly overwhelmed by the timescale of the application and have in fact spent the last two days reading everything relevant in this forum and other web sources. I feel like I am getting in the game too late.

I finish my course in summer 2012, and therefore it would be benificial to apply for a PhD program that begins sept/oct 2012 to carry on my education/research.

It would be great if anyone could help me with a few questions:

I realise the amount of work that will have to go into the GRE and in particular the PGRE. I also realise (from what I have read) they are not "make or break", but definately are still a hurdle to get out the way. There are so many dates flying around on the web-

>>1)Considering I have only begun this proccess what tests (dates) do you think I should take in order to ensure I have enough preparation time and don't leave things too late? Do you think I have left it too late / am at a disadvantage at all right now?

>>2) Is it always the case that PhD students are "paid" in the sence that their tuition and living costs are taken care of?
I realise there are sometimes tutorships and research assistanceships available. I would love to do these but I get the impression they would be highly competitive and they appear have deadlines even sooner than mid Dec/Jan. Makes me worry a tad more considering I think I am late in the proccess.