Poor GPA

DrDarth

Poor GPA

Post by DrDarth » Mon Nov 15, 2021 12:06 pm

I am a sophomore currently in my 3rd semester. I am a 5 years integrated MSc student from India in a top IIT.
In my freshman year, I had a CGPA of 8.96/10. (Don't know how it's converted to 4 point scale). My current semester isn't going too well. I had one C in Engg Mech in my second semester and will get a C in Probability and Stats this semester. I did not realize the importance of grades and being stuck at home due to COVID, I had lost all motivation to study. I always wanted to get into a top 5 US school for Physics PhD.
I know that it's years away but looking at the GPAs on this forum, I feel very dejected. I am confident that I can pull my GPA up to 9.3 ~ 9.4 by by final year but will my poor current Grades put me out of a chance even for a PhD say at MIT. I know this question seems very immature and stupid.
Also can someone estimate my 4 point GPA.

geekusprimus

Re: Poor GPA

Post by geekusprimus » Thu Nov 18, 2021 3:00 pm

truthchannel wrote:
Thu Nov 18, 2021 11:49 am
Even a 10/10 GPA will be rejected from MIT easily
I don't see why you stand a chance in getting into US top schools :lol:
Why are you going around posting this crap? Five posts, and they're all put-downs on other people's odds. Are you a troll? Are you bitter that you didn't get into your preferred institution? Are you hoping to discourage enough people from applying to lift your own application in the process? It's just rude.
know that it's years away but looking at the GPAs on this forum, I feel very dejected. I am confident that I can pull my GPA up to 9.3 ~ 9.4 by by final year but will my poor current Grades put me out of a chance even for a PhD say at MIT. I know this question seems very immature and stupid.