J-1 or F-1 visa??

sltrukshan

J-1 or F-1 visa??

Post by sltrukshan » Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:21 am

Hi,

I'm an international student. I would like to know the basic differences (advantages & dis-advantages) between F-1 and J-1 visa types.

excel

Re: J-1 or F-1 visa??

Post by excel » Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:03 am

As I understand it, J-1 is for exchange students--these students will not complete their degree in the U.S., whereas F-1 is for students enrolling in a degree-seeking program in the U.S. The university that you will join should be able to tell you the correct visa to apply for.

Geoff Olynyk

Post by Geoff Olynyk » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:16 am

Excel, that's not true, the J-1 "student" visa is basically an F-1 but with one important difference -- your spouse can join you in the United States on a J-2 and is allowed to get a SSN and seek employment. F-2 spouses cannot do this.

There are restrictions on the J-1 which do not apply to the F-1, such as: you are only eligible for a J-1 if the "majority" of your funding comes from governmental or scholarship sources (usually not a problem for physics graduate students); you must purchase a comprehensive medical insurance plan (or be given one by the school, also usually not a problem), etc. One J-1 restriction that can be a problem for many people: if your name appears on a "skills list" put out by the Department of State, you have to return home for 2-3 years before you're allowed to get another United States visa.

I have put a significant amount of research into the differences between the two types of student visas. Send me an email (g e o f f _atsign_ o l y n y k . n a m e) if you'd like more information.

Geoff Olynyk

Post by Geoff Olynyk » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:22 am

I should add to that: if you are not trying to bring a significant other with you, then there isn't really an advantage (that I have found, anyway) to a J-1 over an F-1.