Not getting a lor from one of my research advisors?

benz42428

Not getting a lor from one of my research advisors?

Post by benz42428 » Sat Oct 09, 2010 3:41 am

Hi, I am a senior applying to graduate schools, and I'm having a problem that has been concerning me. It is that I plan not to ask a letter of recommendation from my supervisor who I worked with during my freshmen summer research. The reason is that he was pretty abusive and forced me to work overtime. My mentor was also a jerk and abandoned me to work on my own even though I was just a freshman. In the end, I quit his research group without telling the supervisor and I heard he was pretty infuriated (partly my fault here). More importantly, I interacted with him like only 3 times during my time in his lab so I don't even think he knows me well enough to write good things. However, given that he is a very big name and everyone in his field knows him,a professor told me that this would give a potential red flag in my application, as the admission committee may wonder where the letter from this guy is and I'm afraid they may call me and ask questions, or worse, call him. I'm wondering if anyone could give me suggestions on what I should do in this situation. Should I erase the part about the research experience with him in my personal statement so that no one would know about him? Or should I just ignore it? For your information, I worked with him for only 10 weeks and now I have been working in another research group for almost 2 years now so my relationship with the new research advisor is good and she promised to write me a solid recommendation. Also, I have found other 2 recommenders besides her so I'm not in need of another recommendation. Thanks in advance for any of your suggestions or comments :)

geshi

Re: Not getting a lor from one of my research advisors?

Post by geshi » Sat Oct 09, 2010 10:06 am