What to do about a 3rd letter

newslick

What to do about a 3rd letter

Post by newslick » Thu Feb 17, 2022 11:19 am

So to sum it up, I have a MS degree in physics from a US institution (fairly well regarded physics program, ranks in the mid-50s). I will be re-applying to schools this coming fall (2022) and am a bit stuck as to who I should have write my 3rd LoR. The two letter writers I'm set on thus far are my MS research advisor (this will be a strong letter) and my undergraduate research advisor (also should be strong/research oriented). My research is in the realm of plasma astrophysics BTW. The people I have to choose from are:

(1) Undergraduate astronomy/planetary science professor: I had two classes with her; she has a very high opinion of me; she wrote one of my letters the first time I applied to grad school (and I got into places so it couldn't have been terrible).

(2) My current boss: I work at a job where we do technical work and testing on explosive devices. He made me a lecturer for our educational course we give and I do a lot of lab work. He also has a very high opinion of me. He has a PhD in physics (from Harvard) and I'm sure he'd write a very strong letter (he is not affiliated with astronomy in any way).

(3) Graduate school professor who I was a TA for: I was a TA for one of her astronomy courses, I think I did a very good job as a TA (considering I didn't have much in-depth knowledge of that particular area of astronomy). I don't really know what her opinion is of me, but I'd assume it would be fairly good. I did not have her for an actual class nor did I do any research work with her. She is pretty well known in her area of work, though.