filling out FAFSA

chewy

filling out FAFSA

Post by chewy » Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:46 pm

has anyone else filled out FAFSA? I am in the process of doing it, but there doesn't seem to be a place to write down your student loan debt from Undergraduate school. As it would be I would have negative equity (total Assets - Total Liabilities) but it seems they want to leave that information out. To me its a critical part of a persons balance sheet as they will be making monthly payments while in graduate school. I don't want them to think I have money when I really don't. A good idea is to get new Subsidized Graduate loans from the Fed and pay off UnSubsidized loans from undergraduate school, if that would be your situation. 5 Years of no interest and no monthly payments, can't beat that.

meggo

Re: filling out FAFSA

Post by meggo » Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:49 pm

Uhh do you need to fill out a FAFSA? I never did for grad school. I only filled one out while I was an undergrad.

chewy

Post by chewy » Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:58 pm

in general they do, especially for fellowships. But i would want to do because you get a interest free loan. cant beat that. and use that money to get rid of the interest-bearing unsubsidized loan. its kinda like you got to play the system. so that way during graduate years, 4-5years, interest wont be accruing and I wont have to be making monthly payments. you gotta be smart with the fed

meggo

Post by meggo » Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:35 pm

Hmm that's really smart actually...I didn't even think about doing that. Maybe I should look into it...

However, sorry to be totally unhelpful...I don't know the answer to your original question. When I had questions in the past, though, I usually just found their number and called them up early in the morning right when they opened to get questions answered.

peglegjeff

Post by peglegjeff » Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:57 pm