how much do publications weigh for grad school admissions?

larry burns

how much do publications weigh for grad school admissions?

Post by larry burns » Wed Aug 19, 2009 4:43 am

I've posted threads recently on this forum regarding applying to engineering for grad school, but I may consider physics if I change my mind within the next couple weeks and months

i tried to compare my stats with those in the 2008 and 09 profiles, but the profiles i matched the closest with usually had at least 1 publication or the people were authors of papers. I did an REU last summer in physics, but I dont think my prof ever mentioned our work was published and that I was an author of anything (I did type out a 5 page report summarizing my work, but I think that was just for my prof, and it wasn't submitted anywhere). However, I did type out the abstract and it was sent to the NSF.

other than that, only did 1 research project for a prof for a semester, and i definitely didnt publish anything.

btw, i wish to apply to grad schools in astronomy or atomic, molecular, and optical. I'm aiming for the top schools like MIT, caltech, berkeley, etc

Mataka

Re: how much do publications weigh for grad school admissions?

Post by Mataka » Wed Aug 19, 2009 9:03 am

A publication is worth a lot ! , a lot a lot !

They can look at your grades and GRE scores, but that only tell them if you are good at doing exams. What they really want to know is if you are good at research, and a publication speaks for itself. Of course it will help if you have good reference letters that tell how good a researcher you are, but it's still not as good as a publication, especially for top schools.

Are you an international student ? If you are an american you may not have to worry that much, I have seen americans on this forum getting into top schools with no publication at all, just good grades and good scores.

larry burns

Post by larry burns » Thu Sep 03, 2009 2:12 pm