Switching area of interest within the domain of computational astrophysics

mayglorytohk

Switching area of interest within the domain of computational astrophysics

Post by mayglorytohk » Wed May 20, 2020 5:37 am

Dear All

I am a physics student that is considering strongly on persuading a PhD degree. My previous research interest and area is computational astrophysics, to be specific, astrophysical flow which is basically newtonian. Recently I was attracted towards computational and numerical relativity for which is not my original research area. How possible will it be for me to be admitted by PhD schools if I intended to switch into that area? And furthermore, is there any good recommendations of schools that do provide numerical relativity research program? I am thinking about UK/US :D

Thank you :D

Nishikata

Re: Switching area of interest within the domain of computational astrophysics

Post by Nishikata » Wed May 20, 2020 1:11 pm

I think you can apply as computational astrophysicist first to max your chances and choose any field after you got in. In US you are not bound to a group during admission, but I think you must join a group by end of first year. So there is time for switching after you get the admit.

geekusprimus

Post by geekusprimus » Wed May 20, 2020 3:41 pm

Speaking as someone who applied for numerical relativity, it's a fairly small field, but it's become quite a bit more popular over the last few years since the detection of gravitational waves. What's also become quite popular, though, is data analysis and instrumentation, and that has many, many more people working in it because of LIGO, and it's become quite intimately tied to numerical relativity.