Chances of getting into grad school with low PGRE

SymmetryMan

Chances of getting into grad school with low PGRE

Post by SymmetryMan » Tue Mar 10, 2015 1:24 pm

Hi,
I am an international student and about to complete my MSc from a Canadian University. My undergraduate thesis was on Feynman's path integrals in particle physics. Then in my master's I worked on experimental subatomic physics. I have applied to several US universities to do PhD in theory-HEP. I have good research background and recommendation letters :) But my PGRE score sucks :( (620). Plus, I'm changing my field from experimental to theory!. I don't know if I stand a chance in US universities.
My CGPA is (3.85/4.3).
I have applied to following universities:

SUNY,SB: Rejected already
U Chicago: Rejected already
U CLA : Rejected already

U Mass Amherst : Yet to hear
Virginia Tech : Yet to hear

Any opinion?
Last edited by SymmetryMan on Tue Mar 10, 2015 2:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PathIntegrals92

Re: Chances of getting into grad school with low PGRE

Post by PathIntegrals92 » Tue Mar 10, 2015 2:19 pm

SymmetryMan wrote:Hi,
I am an international student and about to complete my MSc from a Canadian University. My undergraduate thesis was on Feynman's path integrals in particle physics. Then in my master's I worked on experimental subatomic physics. I have applied to several US universities to do PhD in theory-HEP. I have good research background and recommendation letters :) But my PGRE score sucks :( (620). Plus, I'm changing my field from experimental to theory!. I don't know if any US university gonna select me.

I have applied to following universities:

SUNY,SB: Rejected already
U Chicago: Rejected already
U CLA : Rejected already

U Mass Amherst : Yet to hear
Virginia Tech : Yet to hear

Any opinion?