Take the PGRE in fall or wait and delay grad school?

geodole

Take the PGRE in fall or wait and delay grad school?

Post by geodole » Mon May 11, 2009 12:51 am

Hi,
I just finished up my third year of college, and am not sure what my best plan of attack for the physics GRE is.
So far this is the physics that I've done:
Introduction to Physics (HRW) 3 Semesters
Modern Physics 1 Semester
E&M (Griffiths) 1 Semester
Space Phyics 1/2 Semester
C++ for Physics 1/2 Semester

The big problem is that I studied abroad and therefore had 1 semester with no physics whatsoever. Additionally my Modern Physics class was terrible and I learned next to nothing. Next semester I will be taking:
Quantum Mechanics (Griffiths)
Physics Mechanics (???)

Which I think might help a lot on the GRE. We had to take the Major Field Test in the middle of last semester and I finished in the 55th %-ile (yuck) but I didn't study at all and therefore had no idea what half the stuff on the test was.

Should I try to learn all the mechanics stuff AND study up on the basic physics and take a swing at the GRE this fall, or should I wait until Spring, then take a year off and go to graduate school after that (because in the Spring it would be too late). Additionally, I will have some very high quality, unique, and most likely published research by then, so that might help my app.

I'm hoping to get into a top graduate school, btw, so I'm aiming for a score in the 800+ range.

P.S. How long after I take them will the scores generally be accepted by the graduate school?

Thanks

noojens

Re: Take the PGRE in fall or wait and delay grad school?

Post by noojens » Mon May 11, 2009 11:14 am

Keep your options open: take it in fall. You might also apply for the Fulbright scholarship and a few research positions at national labs etc to hedge your bets.

Scores are typically valid for 5 years.

Best of luck. :)

geodole

Post by geodole » Mon May 11, 2009 5:06 pm

Thanks!