Bad quant Gre score

Nikos3101

Bad quant Gre score

Post by Nikos3101 » Sat Nov 23, 2019 6:37 am

Hello, I am an international student ,just graduated and want to continue my studies in the US (Solar and space physics).I have an great GPA (top 2% in my school) and a first author publication in MNRAS, also my recomendetion letter will be very good.The only prblem is that i have just taken my Gre test and raw score was
155 verbal
158 quant :? (i have a neck injury that causes me severe migraines after hours of crouching,so i was n able to think clear)

Do you think i should retake the test in 21 days,can a first author publication save the day?
Ιn my SoP could I adress this issue?
Also, would it be bad to ask some University professors their opinion?

Thanks a lot

Nishikata

Re: Bad quant Gre score

Post by Nishikata » Sat Nov 23, 2019 1:34 pm

Aren’t space programs protected to Americans or Permanent Residents? I always thought it contains many confidential information belonging to the country that internationals might be difficult to be eligible for funding or projects. :D

Anyway, your biggest problem is English. There are many spelling errors in your post that screams “I don’t speak english” to your profile. Get a proofreader before submitting your application, please.

About retaking GRE, I don’t think you can make the mid-dec deadline 21 days from now.
Regardless, you should only retake it if you think you can improve. If it is a physical injury as you said, it will affect you again even if you retake the test. So maybe find a school that doesn’t require GRE scores.

It is never a bad idea to ask university professors that you know well from your university for advice.

However, US professors who don’t know you perhaps would be too busy or too bored to reply to applicants’ emails at this late stage.

geekusprimus

Post by geekusprimus » Sat Nov 23, 2019 5:00 pm

Nishikata wrote:
Sat Nov 23, 2019 1:34 pm