Any Chances?

juliaanne

Any Chances?

Post by juliaanne » Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:34 pm

I'm a junior looking to go to grad school, but I'm worried that my grades are too low. I've got a 3.27 GPA, with a 3.14 major GPA (darned math courses!). I haven't taken the GRE yet, so I don't know about that, but I've got a couple years of research experience. I've co-authored one paper so far, and will soon be submitting another as a first author (hopefully it will be accepted). I've also presented at a couple of regional conferences, and will be presenting at a national one in April. I'm hoping my research experience will make up for my poor GPA, but my research adviser said it's a bit iffy because of my grades (and if he doesn't believe in me, who will?) SO is it even worth trying? I'm looking into acoustics at Penn State, Washington, and UT-Austin. Also thinking about Arizona State for biophysics, but I don't have much experience in that.

HappyQuark

Re: Any Chances?

Post by HappyQuark » Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:35 pm

juliaanne wrote:I'm a junior looking to go to grad school, but I'm worried that my grades are too low. I've got a 3.27 GPA, with a 3.14 major GPA (darned math courses!). I haven't taken the GRE yet, so I don't know about that, but I've got a couple years of research experience. I've co-authored one paper so far, and will soon be submitting another as a first author (hopefully it will be accepted). I've also presented at a couple of regional conferences, and will be presenting at a national one in April. I'm hoping my research experience will make up for my poor GPA, but my research adviser said it's a bit iffy because of my grades (and if he doesn't believe in me, who will?) SO is it even worth trying? I'm looking into acoustics at Penn State, Washington, and UT-Austin. Also thinking about Arizona State for biophysics, but I don't have much experience in that.