Low Undergrad GPA, High Masters GPA, Very good research

ApplyingToPHDQuantum

Low Undergrad GPA, High Masters GPA, Very good research

Post by ApplyingToPHDQuantum » Fri Dec 11, 2020 3:56 pm

Hello,

I am currently applying to PhD programs, but I had some concerns about my undergrad GPA. Apart from that undergrad GPA, I think I am a very strong applicant, but I am wondering if it will get me completely denied from places like Stanford, MIT,, Berkeley etc. Additionally, I took some grad/upper level classes in undergrad that are very relevant to my field and I did not do too well in them.

For context, I am applying to quantum computing programs in applied physics, electrical engineering, and computer science.

I did both my masters of engineering and undergrad at the same Ivy League school. In undergrad, I majored in applied physics and computer science.

I got a 3.6 undergrad GPA. What concerns me about this is that it is very low relative to my peers, as well as the other Ivy League students here who seem to all get 4.0's. I also got a B in graduate quantum mechanics, as well as a C+ in computational physics during my undergrad. These are both very relevant to my field. Additionally, I tended to average B's in all my upper level undergrad physics courses. During my undergrad, I tended to take 6 STEM-heavy courses at a time. I really should not have done that looking back on things.

However, in my masters of engineering program, I got a 4.0. This program lasted 3 semesters. I took classes like QFT, solid state physics, grad level E&M, quantum optics, etc. Basically, if you look at the upper level undergrad classes I got a B in, I got an A in the grad versions as a masters student (except for intro quantum). I also took 4 classes in computational physics / numerical computing and got A's in them. 2 of these were undergrad classes.