Low GPA, dual degree in Computational Neuro and Physics, chances of getting a good grad school?

Ds1998

Low GPA, dual degree in Computational Neuro and Physics, chances of getting a good grad school?

Post by Ds1998 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:06 pm

Hi,

I am pursuing a dual degree in Physics and Computational Neuroscience. I have a cumulative GPA of 2.62 and in major physics 3.23.
I am in my senior year and I am taking my core physics classes this year and will be staying an extra semester.

I plan to get in the industry and work in data science for now. I want to be able to earn some money and take off the pressure from my parents.

I have done a good amount of bio-physics research over the course of three years. One paper is in review and I am working on another paper as a first author. So I am hoping to get a recommendation letter.

I have been an SPS officer for two years. I have also done a few internships here and there over the course of my studies.

I am really passionate about physics and I want to do some research that integrates neuroscience and physics later on.
I am trying my level best to work hard my senior year and raise my gpa as much as I can. I will give my gre after I finish my undergraduate and try to score very well.

I have also taken up a research project on my own with my CS peers which is machine learning based and we are in the process of developing a website and mobile application that helps in analyzing dream data.

I am an international student so it has been hard for me to be able to pay tuition here in the United States, so I have tried to do part-time jobs here and there to be able to pay my rent and food necessities. I think mostly my freshmen and sophomore grades have been terrible which decreased my overall gpa.

I am unsure how to work on my gpa since the max I can it up to is 3.0 and that is if I get all straight As and B+s here and there.