Low GRE, complicated track record: worth it to apply to top schools?

blinkmiss

Low GRE, complicated track record: worth it to apply to top schools?

Post by blinkmiss » Fri Nov 25, 2016 7:38 am

I am an international female recent grad from top 10 US undergrad program. My GPA is 3.6 but with strong upward trend, near 4.0 in last two years. Before that I had a gap due to health issues. I was hoping to have my PGRE offset my bad GPA, but somehow I couldn't bring myself to study for it all summer(no excuse, just hated the test), studied for about ten days and ended up with a 770. I have good research experience, with first author in prep and presentations and other author publication.

My top choices were Berkeley physics and Harvard applied physics. I will obviously add more safeties, but should I even bother applying to these anymore? I have tried very hard to maintain a perfect record since my health issues set me back and this is leaving me hopeless.

AlexisPrel

Re: Low GRE, complicated track record: worth it to apply to top schools?

Post by AlexisPrel » Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:33 am

I am by no mean an expert, but in a similar situation as you.

Although it looks easier to give up I would apply anyway.

What if they take you ? You get into your dream school. What if they don't ? You lose ca. 200$ in application fees and GRE score reporting. The bet is certainly worth it, and your record doesn't sound that bad at all.

LovePassion

Re: Low GRE, complicated track record: worth it to apply to top schools?

Post by LovePassion » Fri Nov 25, 2016 10:15 pm