Seeking suggestions for school

Dege

Seeking suggestions for school

Post by Dege » Sat Oct 08, 2011 1:17 pm

Hi,

I have recently finished my Masters in Physics (70%) and I will be giving my GREs in
November. I think I can manage a 800+ score in the subject test and I am confident about the general test. I have no research experience but I have done a project work under one of my professors for a semester (and i hope to get a decent letter from him). I am from India and most schools I have heard of are quite understandably the well known ones. Can you please give me a list of schools where I have a realistic chance of getting into? ( i am looking at 6 schools: 2 long shots, 2 decent ones, 2 safe).

Thanks.

phenomenon

Re: Seeking suggestions for school

Post by phenomenon » Sat Oct 08, 2011 1:48 pm

@Dege,
Schools you will have a realistic chance of getting into:

Long shots- Havard, Princeton
Decent ones- MIT, Stanford
Safe - UCBerkeley, CALTECH

Thanks,
Phenomenon.

ali8

Post by ali8 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 4:25 pm

I think phenomenon is mocking (?).

First of all, could you tell us your GPA converted to the 4.0 system ?

Dege

Post by Dege » Sun Oct 09, 2011 5:17 am

@ali, i dont think there's a standard conversion formula. lets say most of my grades are B+'s.

@phenomenon, i have jettisoned my humour till my GREs are over but i appreciate the effort all the same. cheers.

bfollinprm

Post by bfollinprm » Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:03 am

A good metric for trying to turn your class rank to American undergraduate GPA is this:

top 5%-4.0
top 10%-3.5
top 20%-3.0
and so forth.