School aims and any improvements

VSkid1

School aims and any improvements

Post by VSkid1 » Mon Aug 23, 2021 10:15 am

Hey everyone ! I’m an undergrad from India( institution having a good and recognised physics department, at least in cosmology ) and I’d be starting my junior year of undergrad(3rd year ) this semester ( mine is a 4 year BS Degree, writing this just to clear that I’m not doing an engineering degree ). I’d eventually wanna do a PhD in cosmology with a healthy dose of quantum gravity.

I know some of you might consider this early but I’d be really grateful if anyone can help me with what I should do with the remaining half of my undergrad 😅 So here are things about me

GPA : 3.3/4 (At this point, no big courses here with regards to my research at this point but I’m taking 2 grad courses this sem alongside QM and stat mech so the real fun is yet to factor in here😃Also due to COVID and personal issues, I screwed up a bit in my freshman year classical mech course(not the analytical mechanics one) and a bit on electromagnetism but I’m pretty sure I’m gonna do really well on all my upcoming courses )

PGRE : 980 ( gave it in my freshman year for fun )

Usual GRE : Haven’t done it yet

Research experience( the favourite part 😁):

Wrote 3 papers on early universe cosmology(primarily inflation) and the string theoretic swampland, 1 paper on quintessence dark energy and the swampland and one on warm inflation . In total 5 papers till now , all single authored.

All 3 of my inflation and swampland papers have been accepted for publication in PRD, CQG and Physics Letters B and the dark energy one has been accepted in IJGMMP. 4 publications till now
( I currently have an h-index of 4 with 21 citations on all my papers till now, if that matters )