Del

gaugeinvariance

Del

Post by gaugeinvariance » Fri Sep 18, 2020 7:09 am

Del
Last edited by gaugeinvariance on Fri Dec 31, 2021 10:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Nishikata

Re: How do you guys think of my list for astrophysics PhD programs?

Post by Nishikata » Fri Sep 18, 2020 11:16 am

are you international or domestic applicant?

Unfortunately, being an Asian male is usually a minus for graduate school application. There're too many students in this category so schools do prefer to look for different profiles.

gaugeinvariance

Post by gaugeinvariance » Fri Sep 18, 2020 11:56 am

I am an international student (I think the situation will make things even worse :cry: ). Do nationality also affect the results? :?:

IaMkizzz

Post by IaMkizzz » Fri Sep 18, 2020 1:10 pm

gaugeinvariance wrote:
Fri Sep 18, 2020 11:56 am
I am an international student (I think the situation will make things even worse :cry: ). Do nationality also affect the results? :?:
That's a minus^2

geekusprimus

Post by geekusprimus » Fri Sep 18, 2020 4:45 pm

You need to trim down your list considerably. Also, some of your schools are out of place. For example, UT Austin is considerably more difficult to get into than Georgia Tech, and Maryland is also quite competitive (probably on the level of Michigan and UT Austin). I also wouldn't list any of the public schools in your super reach category as super reaches, at least not relative to schools like Stanford and Caltech.