Help. I have one more chance.

runcibleshaw

Help. I have one more chance.

Post by runcibleshaw » Tue Sep 22, 2015 1:12 pm

I graduated from my physics undergrad in May and I basically have one more chance to not get a crappy physics GRE score. I was unable to take it last year because of circumstances and so wasn't able to apply to most of the grad schools I would like to have. I took it in April and got a 590 after several months of studying. I just took it again on Saturday and I don't feel like I did any better. I'm at my wits end and don't know what I can do to improve my score.
I know what my problem(s) is(are). I'm slow, and I make silly math mistakes. I've tried as many of the recommended test prep/taking strategies I can find and it hasn't made a dent in my score. I've tried all of the practice tests under timed conditions multiple times. I've checked the answers I got wrong to understand why. I've studied flash cards, text books, GRE test prep books and my own class notes. I've probably put hundreds of hours into studying. I've tried to apply test-taking strategies like taking limits, checking units, and checking order of magnitude. The thing is I never am able to answer more than about 60 questions and I usually get a third or more of them wrong. I'm also very weak at circuits and statistics. I've tried to improve, but at this point if I see a circuit diagram or oscilloscope graph, I just skip it. My score is always between five and six hundred. It's really frustrating because I was a straight A student and graduated summa cum laude in two years from my physics program. I'm just not fast. I can answer every question on the test if I had twice the time, but apparently grad schools really want to know that I'm good at speed physics not that I can answer the questions in general.