How to prepare for PGRE if I haven't taken E&M or Quantum yet?

dsilvas

How to prepare for PGRE if I haven't taken E&M or Quantum yet?

Post by dsilvas » Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:40 pm

My school's typical curicculum has us take E&M and Quantum in our last year of undergrad. I took an intro class to e&m but I got a C and don't remember much anything useful. One of my classes taught a bit of quantum at the end of the semester but we only needed to know it for the final exam and I was exempted from the Final due to having an A in the class, so I never really learned much Quantum either (but it would have only been about a week of intro material anyways).

I've had to work with a lot of math that apparently is related to e&m and quantum in my class on advanced math methods.

I have no idea how to prepare for these sections of the PGRE. What's the best material to prepare for them far in advance? I'm in my 3rd year now planning to spend the next few months preparing for my first test in the spring then a 2nd one next fall.

Nishikata

Re: How to prepare for PGRE if I haven't taken E&M or Quantum yet?

Post by Nishikata » Mon Nov 25, 2019 9:16 pm

If your test is in Spring, it is probably best to self-study EM and QM as normal. You still have 4 months which should suffice if you study seriously with a consistent plan. This means to read Griffiths' Introduction to EM and QM book along with its solutions manual because without a teacher, being stuck in a difficult problem won't get you anywhere. All books are available online as PDF, you only need to google it.

ztruwk

Post by ztruwk » Tue Nov 26, 2019 9:47 pm