PhD in Theoretical physics and beyond.

• Imagine you are sipping tea or coffee while discussing various issues with a broad and diverse network of students, colleagues, and friends brought together by the common bond of physics, graduate school, and the physics GRE.

blackcat007

PhD in Theoretical physics and beyond.

Post by blackcat007 » Fri Aug 21, 2009 11:57 am

as a budding theoretical physicist, i many times brood over the fact that, what will happen if i don't get a top school and get a low ranked school say 68th rank according to US news ranking? Will i get a position in academics anywhere after my PhD?
Since theoretical physics doesn't require any instruments and any such huge infrastructures, then doing a PhD from a school like Syracuse where there are good theoretical physicists, but has a low rank. will that help me in doing good research later?
yes i know it largely depends on me and my work, but will i face situations where i will be having the potential to succeed but due to the low rank or location or other such factors i will be held back? or i will never be able to work with the frontier problems even if i have the talent?
Other than these problems what all will i face if i do my PhD from a low rank university.

It may sound presumptuous but, Witten went to Princeton for applied math after his history UG from Brandeis and UW-madison(eco), i would like to ask him, how he went there?? was the admission procedure different that time? wasn't there any GRE and math GRE that time?? and what did he do for reco??

zxcv

Re: PhD in Theoretical physics and beyond.

Post by zxcv » Sat Aug 22, 2009 5:46 am

The ambition may be admirable, but planning your career on doing theoretical (especially particle) theory in academia is pretty far fetched for everyone. Even at the very best schools, only a quarter get tenure track positions (I could did up the relevant blog post eventually...).