The queries of a young physics enthusiast

• Imagine you are sipping tea or coffee while discussing various issues with a broad and diverse network of students, colleagues, and friends brought together by the common bond of physics, graduate school, and the physics GRE.

k2y

The queries of a young physics enthusiast

Post by k2y » Mon Oct 18, 2021 9:39 am

THE JOURNEY TO A BETTER PLACE

I am a 17 year old student from India who is pursuing a Bachelor's degree in Physics and Mathematics (Yes , double major). I am a first year student in college and I think since grade 10 my interest and passion for Physics has started growing and it has now led me to pursue a degree in the same with hopes of doing further studies in a foreign country.

I had recently done a little bit research and figured out that one of the best places to earn my graduate degree would be Stanford university , and man am I hooked at the idea of studying there. If I'm being honest I have never really learnt anything be it mathematics or physics or geography with the purpose of scoring good grades in an exam and have always tried to understand the things properly , not always securing the best of grades. I owe this mentality to my mother who never made me feel any pressure towards securing good grades and was always there for me irrespective of my grades and helped me in my academic journey. I also owe this to my Mathematics and Physics teacher who has really shown me the beauty of both subjects and cultivated my interests in the same.

I am willing to do whatever it takes to get into Stanford be it learning 3 / 4 years of Physics materials diligently or maintaining the best GPA throughout college. I want to take part in all the experiments / research work / teaching / extra-curriculars which can help me to build a decent portfolio and boost my chances of gaining admission into one of the best institutions in the world.